Doctoral Colloquium

(October 20, 2002)

Application is closed June 1, 2002.

Graduate students within different areas of human-computer interaction are invited to take part in the Doctoral Colloquium at NordiCHI 2002. This will be the place where lively and useful discussions enable students to receive suggestions about their on-going research and allow more experienced participants to encounter some fresh ideas and view some of the new trends in the field.

The Doctoral Colloquium provides an opportunity for doctoral students to discuss their research both with other students and with leading experts within the field. The colloquium will take the form of a workshop where established HCI scholars take active part as discussants. The purpose is for students to receive constructive feedback on their thesis work so far, get advice about future developments, and share ideas and experiences with students in related areas.

Participants should have advanced beyond the introductory stage in their thesis work, and be actively engaged in the exploration of an HCI topic. The research areas covered by the DC are the same as the NordiCHI conference generally. Students may come from different academic subjects or disciplines, such as interaction design, computer science, cognitive science, and sociology.

To apply, please submit a proposal of at most 3 pages, including abstract and references. Also, a short biographical note describing the applicant's background should be enclosed. The proposal should include a description of the research problem, the theoretical background and approach chosen, and the work performed so far. The proposals will be evaluated by a review committee. Approximately 8 participants will be selected to give a short presentation of their research topic, followed by a discussion within the group of students and experts.

Expert Panel:
Kerstin Severinson Eklundh, NADA, Royal Institute of Technology (chair).
Susanne Bødker, Department of Computer Science, University of Aarhus.
Peter Bøgh Andersen, Department of Computer Science, Aalborg University.
Kristina Höök, Swedish Institute of Computer Science.
Wendy Mackay, INRIA, France.
Yvonne Waern, University of Linköping.
Shumin Zhai, IBM Almaden Research Center, San Jose.
Teresa Cerratto, NADA, Royal Institute of Technology.
Kari-Jouko Räihä, Dept. of Computer Science, University of Tampere.

Last update: by